THOUGHTS // Week 12: The Importance of Self-Care

I am still in shock at how quickly this semester has gone, especially this last month. Especially now that ANU only has 12 weeks (as opposed to the ol’ 13) – time flies… I guess I’m having fun.

IMG_5103.JPG
My view from Hancock Library, where I’ve been hiding the majority of the week

 

As you probably guessed from the title, it is currently week 12. The week that students dread. It’s full of cramming, assessment and stress (which is why this week, I want to stress the importance of self-care).

Now everyone has certain things they like to do to de-stress, but maybe you want to try something new, or maybe you’re just interested in how others to soothe their souls. Nonetheless, I’m going to share a few tips with you so buckle up!

 

Tip one: exercise

This is absolutely the first thing that goes to the end of my priority list when I have a bunch of things to do. However we all know that exercise releases endorphins, which can be super helpful when you are stressed and in need of a break.

I went for a lake walk the other day, just before the sun began to set. I started off at the National Library and walked the ‘bridge to bridge’ (Commonwealth Bridge to Kings Avenue Bridge).

IMG_5076.JPG

I caught the sunset at the end of my walk, and watched people cycle past as the sunlight filtered through the leaves. There was actually a boy on a unicycle (you can see him in the sunlight) and his mother was taking photos of him (to the left). Isn’t autumn marvellous?!

IMG_5100.JPG

Tip two: hang out with animals 

FullSizeRender-1.jpg

One thing I love about week 12 (previously week 13) are the events that ANU hosts. In particular, I always look forward to the Petting Zoo. Anyone who knows me will know that I absolutely love animals, and what better place to go.

The animal I am holding (to the right) is a silkie chicken. The lady who owns the farm (and petting zoo) said that you have to pick them up with confidence and hold their wings so they don’t fly away. There was also a 3 month old cow – what a cutie! Unfortunately, petting zoos aren’t easily accessible so if you’re looking for a quick fix, you can always find a dog who is ready to receive love, pets and tummy rubs.

FullSizeRender-2.jpg

 

Tip three: Prepare for when you have no assessment 

FullSizeRender-3.jpgAs with most uni students, I can be a procrastination queen! On the weekend, besides the hours I spent at the library, I made it to Paperchain – a lovely bookstore in Manuka. When I saw that Haruki Murakami had published another book, I absolutely had to have it. He is my favourite author by far, and I will one day own every single book he has published. So, I’ve added it to my to-do list for the holidays.

 

Tip four: Take a break, if you need one

Finally, my last tip is to take a break. After my weekend of studying, I literally could not face my computer. My fingers hurt from typing. So, I took the liberty of taking the night off.

I went to my friend’s house and we had homemade burgers and made brownies! We tried the Betty Crocker Gluten Free Chocolate Brownie mix and added Cadbury Caramello pieces to it. Whilst I’d rate the normal mix above the gluten free version, it was still super delicious and we had it with ice cream. The perfect night off.

FullSizeRender-4.jpg

 

All in all, no matter how you relax, make sure you take the time to self-care during week 12 (or during your work week, or any time when you are feeling stressed or overworked).

For now, it’s back to my green tea and revision.

 

Affectionately Yours,

Anika x

 

2 thoughts on “THOUGHTS // Week 12: The Importance of Self-Care”

Leave a Reply

