PERSONAL // Life Update

I like consistency, and so I decided that I would do a new blog post each week around 7am, Wednesday. This week, I have not done so. Not because I forgot, not because I didn’t want to, but because life got in the way and my attention has been focused elsewhere. You’ll learn why soon.

Anyway, for this week, I’ve decided to write a short and bittersweet life update:

The good news

  • On a positive note, I finished exams on Monday! You may have seen this on my Instagram or I may have excitedly told you. This means semester 1 of 2017 is complete, and I only have 1 1/2 years of study left – eeek… and one of those semesters will be spent in Milan. How time flies…
  • On another positive note, I am officially an ANU Global Programs storyteller which means I will submit my stories/adventures/misadventures to Global Programs and they might feature on the blog. I was gifted a T-shirt and a selfie stick – very exciting.
IMG_5540.JPG
Sunrise on the morning of 5 June 2017.

But with good, comes bad… so here it is.

The not-so-good news

  • One of the most inspirational women in my life passed away. She would have been 95 on Monday 5 June 2017. My Great Aunt (“Auntie Anne”) was born in Germany and escaped just before World War II. She lived in Australia and carved out a life for herself, making many wonderful friends along the way. She loved going for walks on the beach every day, alongside a furry companion (the last was Billie, a spotty cattle dog who absolutely adored Auntie Anne). I loved her with all my heart and unfortunately, I never got to say goodbye. I guess that happens in life. You never know when something might happen, or when your last goodbye might be. It’s one of the reasons that I always like to let the people in my life know how much I love and appreciate them. Live each day like it’s your last, I say.
FullSizeRender.jpg
A photo of Telstra Tower at sunset on the same day (5 June 2017).

So, that’s where I’m at.

It is now 40 days until I head to Europe, so I suppose I should start organising visas and think about what to pack (and if we’re being honest here, where I even want to go).

Speaking of which, if anyone has any recommendations for what to pack when travelling for long periods (esp when you’re due to be living in a fashion capital !!!), please leave a comment!

Well, that is all for this week. Back to watching Netflix and bumming out on the couch because I’ve finished exams and have no study to do – oooohhh yeah.

 

Affectionately Yours,

Anika x

1 thought on “PERSONAL // Life Update”

Leave a Reply

